Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Summary Seminar Penerangan Fatwa Cuka Wain (Wine Vinegar)

Program: Seminar Penerangan Fatwa Cuka Wain (Wine Vinegar)
Date: 12th May 2010
Venue: Bilik Gerakan, Bangunan Annex, Dewan Undangan Negeri Selangor
Organizer: Jabatan Mufti Negeri Selangor
Speakers: Assoc. Prof. Dato’ Haji Mohd Mokhtar Bin Haji Shafii (UM)
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Zainal Bin Samicho (UiTM)


Issue of the status of wine vinegar as flavoring was raised because during the process, there is stage of alcohol (wine) formation. The problem is, in what conditions the wine vinegar can categories as free from najs and what the opinion of Islam about the producing of wine vinegar using modern technology as a commercial business?

JAKIM Shariah Research Council Meeting 1991:
• The panel had decided that vinegar that undergoes controlled or adulteration fermentation process and the produce was being controlled by adding pure vinegar which is high quality are complies and permissible (harus) to Shariah Law
• Vinegar from German process using ethyl alcohol by directing it through beech wood that contain acid-forming bacteria which it the alcohol used was from distilled wine or other fermented fruit (spirit vinegar) are not permissible for consumption.

73rd Malaysia Fatwa Council Meeting on 4-6th April 2006
• It is unlawful (Haram) to use wine vinegar which is under processing or mixed with other substances (an adulteration). However, if the conversion from wine vinegar to vinegar happen naturally, so it is permissible (Halal)

Al-Quran al- Karim

“O ye who believe! Intoxicants and gambling, sacrificing to stones, and (divination by) arrows, are (all) abominations devised by Satan. Avoid such (abomination) that you may prosper”
(Sûrah al-Ma’idah: 91-92)

• Liquor (khamr) is defined in Islamic Law as any intoxicating drink that could affect the person’s mental coherence. It is forbidden by consensus of the Muslims

On the authority of Abu 'Abdullah al-Nu'man bin Bashir, radiyallahu 'anhu, who said: I heard the Messenger of Allah, sallallahu 'alayhi wasallam, say:
"Truly, what is lawful is evident, and what is unlawful is evident, and in between the two are matters which are doubtful which many people do not know. He who guards against doubtful things keeps his religion and honor blameless, and he who indulges in doubtful things indulges in fact in unlawful things, just as a shepherd who pastures his flock round a preserve will soon pasture them in it. Beware, every king has a preserve, and the things Allah has declared unlawful are His preserves. Beware; in the body there is a flesh; if it is sound, the whole body is sound, and if it is corrupt, the whole bodies is corrupt, and behold, it is the heart."
[Al-Bukhari & Muslim]
Meanwhile, there are some says that wine vinegar are permissible because it already changes to vinegar and there is no clear evidence from Al-Quran and Al-Hadith about the status of vinegar; only the Hadith advice us to avoid something not clear.
• There were two opinions for wine vinegar status.
I. If the changes from alcohol to vinegar comes naturally it is permissible for consumption.
II. Wine vinegar that produce using adulteration method by mixed with other substance is not permissible.
• Prof Dr Yusuf Al-Qardhawi (contemporary scholar) said there should have a new ijtihad or interpretation of wine vinegar that produce using adulteration method by mixed with other substance because there some views that it is permissible.
• Malaysia Fatwa Council also welcoming to all participant and expertise to give an opinion about this issue.